Lieff Cabraser Civil Justice Blog

Lieff Cabraser Attorneys Named Finalists for AAI Antitrust Enforcement Awards

Lieff Cabraser Attorneys Named Finalists For AAI Antitrust Enforcement Award

Today the American Antitrust Institute (AAI) announced its selection of leading legal practitioners and economists to be recognized at the AAI 2015 Antitrust Enforcement Awards.

Lieff Cabraser attorneys Kelly M. Dermody, Richard M. Heimann, Brendan P. Glackin, Dean M. Harvey, and Anne B. Shaver were named finalists for the award for Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement in Private Law Practice based on their success in the landmark case In re: High-Tech Employee Antitrust Litigation. Harvey was also named a finalist for the award for Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement by a Young Lawyer for his work in the case.

The High-Tech Employee class action complaint charged that Adobe, Apple, Google, Intel, and other large tech companies conspired from approximately 2005 to 2009 to suppress the pay of approximately 64,600 technical, creative, and other salaried employees, including by agreeing not to actively recruit each other’s employees.

On September 2, 2015, the Court approved a $415 million settlement with Apple, Google, Intel, and Adobe Systems. Earlier, on May 16, 2014, the Court granted final approval to settlements valued at $20 million with Intuit, Lucasfilm, and Pixar. The combined $435 million settlement is substantially larger that any prior resolution of antitrust claims in the employment setting, on either an aggregate or per-class-member basis.

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner on Novemer 18, 2015, following AAI’s annual Private Antitrust Enforcement Conference in Washington, D.C.